Bar Admissions

Bar Admission Requirements - LR 83.1

To become a member of this district's bar, an attorney must:

  1. be an active member in good standing of the bar of the Supreme Court of New Hampshire;
  2. submit a Petition for Admission; and
  3. submit the admission fee of $211.

The Petition for Admission and application fee must be submitted online by clicking here. Pay.Gov allows applicants to submit the required application fee by credit card or ACH debit.

All applicants must be sworn in within one year of filing the petition. Pending applicants have the option of attending a ceremony or scheduling a time to take the oath in the clerk's office. Prior to formal admission, pending applicants may practice before the court but may not move for the admission of another attorney pro hac vice.

**NOTE:** If you are being admitted to the New Hampshire state bar on June 1, 2017, and would like to be concurrently admitted to the USDC-NH bar, please submit your application no later than close of business on May 19, 2017.

Certificates of Good Standing & Duplicate Certificates of Admission

To request a certificate of good standing from the bar of this court or a duplicate certificate of admission, please click here to link to our online request form and payment system. The fee for each document is $19 and may be paid by credit card or ACH debit.

Note on Duty to Report Convictions & Arrests - LR 83.5

Please note that all members of the USDC-NH bar are required under LR 83.5 to disclose any discipline imposed by other courts and certain convictions and arrests.

  • DR-3 requires members of this court's bar to promptly inform the clerk upon being subjected to public discipline by ANY other court.
  • DR-4 requires disclosure in cases of disbarment on consent or resignation from the bar of ANY other court.
  • DR-2 requires any member of the bar convicted of a felony or misdemeanor to file, within twenty-one (21) days of the date of conviction, a certified copy of the judgment.
  • DR-2 also requires members of the bar to report to the clerk any arrests if the underlying offense involves the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon.

Failure to meet any of the above reporting requirements may result in disciplinary proceedings.

Federal Practice Section

This section of the NH Bar Association was established in January of 2000. Its mission is to provide input from federal practitioners on improving court procedures and practices while enhancing the bench/bar relationship. It also plans CLE opportunities on topics of interest to federal practitioners. For more information, including a current roster of members and chairperson, please visit the "For Members" section of the NH Bar Association's website at www.nhbar.org.