Jury Service FAQs

The Clerk's Office is fortunate to have an experienced and dedicated staff. While we encourage you to call us if you have questions, we hope you will first take the time to research your inquiry using the various sections of this web site. To expedite your research this section provides answers to those frequently asked questions about the court and its procedures. We hope you find them helpful and informative.

  • Why can't I serve closer to my home?
    The only location for the United States District Court for the District of New Hampshire is in Concord. If you are a resident of New Hampshire, you are eligible for service in this court and your service cannot be transferred to any other jurisdiction.
  • How was I selected for jury duty?
    The court randomly draws names from both the general election voter registration lists provided by all New Hampshire cities and towns and a list of active licensed drivers as maintained by the Motor Vehicle Division from the New Hampshire Department of Safety.
  • Do I have to serve?
    Yes unless you are not qualified, exempt or excused. Please see the Jury Service: Qualifications, Exemptions and Excuses page for more information.
  • Can I request an excuse or postponement?
    To request an excuse or postponement, you must submit a Request for Jury Service Postponement/Excuse form. The form is available in eJuror after you complete the summons questions, or you may contact the court's jury clerk to request that a form be sent to you. After you submit your request, you should check the AJIS telephone line for updates on your status. You must report for service unless you receive notice that your request was granted.
  • Failure to Report: What happens if I don't appear for jury duty?
    28 U.S.C. section 1864(b) and the Judicial Administration and Technical Amendments Act of 2008, Pub. L. No. 110-406 allow the following sanctions for noncompliance with a jury summons or for lying on a questionnaire: the imposition of a fine from $100 to $1,000; imprisonment for not more than 3 days; and the potential penalty of community service.
  • Will I get paid for jury service?
    Yes. Jurors are compensated at the rate of $40/day. Although most trials do not last longer than a week, you may receive up to $50/day after serving 10 days on a trial. Jurors also will receive a mileage allowance from home to the court and reimbursement for tolls and parking. Jurors generally are paid on a weekly basis. Jury attendance fees (but not reimbursement for mileage, tolls and parking expenses) are reportable income.
  • What if my employer wants proof that I was serving on jury duty?
    To avoid conflicts with your jury commitment, employers and other interested parties should be provided with the schedule of your jury service as soon as you receive your summons. The court also can provide certificates of attendance for jurors who appear at the court for jury selection and trials.
  • How long will I have to be at the court?
    Petit Jurors: A typical jury day begins at 9:00 a.m. and ends at 5:00 p.m. However, your schedule will depend on the court's schedule. When you first report for a one-time orientation, you will be asked to report about an hour earlier, around 8:00 a.m. Grand Jurors: A typical grand jury day begins at 9:30 a.m. and ends before 5:00 p.m. There are breaks throughout the day and jurors are permitted to leave the courthouse during their lunch break. When you first report for an orientation and selection, you will be asked to report about an hour and a half earlier, around 8:00 a.m.
  • An important employee has been summoned for jury service in your court. What are my options?
    Employers may not request that employees be excused from jury service. The "Protection of Juror's Employment Statute" (Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1875) prohibits an employer from interfering with a juror's service. The maximum civil penalty for an employer who retaliates against an employee serving on jury duty is from $1,000 to $5,000 in addition to community service.
  • What should I wear to the courthouse?
    Business casual attire is recommended. Clothing such as tank or halter tops, shorts, t-shirts, untidy blue jeans, or sweat pants is not appropriate. You may wish to bring a sweater or jacket as temperatures can vary in the courtrooms. Hats are not permitted in the courtroom during any proceedings.

Pages